Now Playing loading...

Westbrook Named MVP at NBA Awards Over Harden and Leonard


Image Source: AP

At the inaugural post-season NBA Awards hosted by Drake, do-it-all point guard Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder was named Most Valuable Player of the league. It was a very stacked field this season in the MVP race, with Westbrook garnering more votes than James Harden of the Houston Rockets, and Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs.

Despite losing his teammate of eight years in Kevin Durant to eventual NBA Champions, the Golden State Warriors, Westbrook embraced his new solo dolo role, averaging 31.6 points, 10.4 assists and 10.7 rebounds per game, breaking Oscar Robertson’s legendary triple-doubles record with 42. Westbrook would go on to carry his team to the post season, where they would fall to the Rockets in the first round.

Other winners and moments from the NBA Awards:

Drake coming out with jokes!

Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors) – Defensive Player of the Year

Eric Gordon (Houston Rockets) – Sixth Man of the Year

Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks) – Most Improved Player

Malcolm Brogdon (Milwaukee Bucks) – Rookie of the Year

Mike D’Antoni (Houston Rockets) – Coach of the Year

Dallas’ own Dirk Dirk Nowitzki won the Teammate of the Year Award

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.