Now Playing loading...

Janelle Monae Unveils “The Electric Lady” in Its Entirety


Next week will see the release of Janelle Monae‘s much-hyped The Electric Lady, but before the disc drops the singer is allowing fans to stream the project in its entirety.

“I was always influenced and inspired by science fiction,” she tells Elle magazine of her concept album. “I felt compelled to write a conscious album around science fiction…That’s what I want to represent in my music.”

The Electric Lady arrives in stores on September 10 through Bad Boy/Atlantic, but it’s available for pre-order now on iTunes. Janelle tweeted that she has “the world’s best musicians” on her third studio project, which includes her first collaboration with the legendary Prince as well as contributions from Solange, Erykah Badu, Esperanza Spalding and Miguel.  Janelle adds it was “an honor” working with them all.

In related news, Janelle is scheduled to play the iTunes Festival 2013 in London on Saturday, September 14. She’ll then embark on her North American headlining tour, beginning on October 13 at Philadelphia.

Here’s the track list for The Electric Lady:

Disc 1
“Suite IV Electric Overture”
“Givin’ Em What They Love” (Feat. Prince)
“Q.U.E.E.N.” (Feat. Erykah Badu)
“Electric Lady” (Feat. Solange)
“Good Morning Midnight” (interlude)
“PrimeTime” (Feat. Miguel)
“We Were Rock & Roll”
“The Chrome Shoppe” (interlude)
“Dance Apocalyptic”
“Look into My Eyes”

Disc 2
“Suite V Electric Overture”
“It’s Code”
“Ghetto Woman”
“Our Favorite Fugitive” (interlude)
“Can’t Live Without Your Love
“Sally Ride”
“Dorothy Dandridge Eyes” (Feat. Esperanza Spalding)
“What an Experience”

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.