Now Playing loading...

Jay Z, Beyonce, Drake Lead All Nominees for BET Awards 2014


Columbia Records

Jay Z, Beyonce, and Drake lead all nominees for this year’s BET Awards, taking place next month at the Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles, CA.

The artists have scored five nods a piece, two of which are in major categories: Best Collaboration, and Video of the Year.  Jay and Drizzy will also go head-to-head in the Best Male Hip-Hop Artist category while Beyonce will compete with Rihanna, Janelle Monae, Tamar Braxton, and others for Best Female R&B/Pop Artist.

Pharrell and R&B newcomer August Alsina have earned four nods each. Fans can expect the host and Coca-Cola’s Viewers’ Choice nominees to be announced on BET’s 106 & Park on Wednesday at 6 p.m. ET.

“This year’s nominees represent the best of the culture,” said Stephen Hill, BET’s President of Music Programming and Specials.  “It’s great to see our talented new artist’s right alongside our more beloved ones with long careers. We appreciate our BET Awards nomination committee, over 300 strong, for their efforts and congratulate all the nominees.”

The BET Awards 2014 will air live on Sunday, June 29 at 8 p.m. ET on BET. Visit for a complete list of nominees for ceremony.

Here are the nominees in major categories for the BET Awards 2014:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Janelle Monáe
Jhené Aiko
K. Michelle
Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
August Alsina
Chris Brown
John Legend
Justin Timberlake
Pharrell Williams

Best Group
A$AP Mob
Daft Punk
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Young Money

Best Collaboration
August Alsina f/Trinidad Jame$, “I Luv This”
Beyoncé f/JAY Z, “Drunk In Love”
Drake f/Majid Jordan, “Hold On (We’re Going Home)”
JAY Z f/Justin Timberlake, “Holy Grail”
Robin Thicke f/T.I. & Pharrell Williams, “Blurred Lines”
YG f Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan, “My Hitta”

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist
J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Angel Haze
Charli Baltimore
Iggy Azalea
Nicki Minaj

Video of the Year
Beyoncé, “Partition”
Beyoncé f/JAY Z,  “Drunk In Love”
Chris Brown, “Fine China”
Drake, “Worst Behavior”
Pharrell Williams, “Happy”

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Chris Brown
Colin Tilley
Director X
Hype Williams

Best New Artist
Ariana Grande
August Alsina
Mack Wilds
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q

Best Gospel Artist
Donnie McClurkin
Erica Campbell
Hezekiah Walker
Tamela Mann
Tye Tribbett
Centric Award
Aloe Blacc, “The Man”
Jennifer Hudson f/T.I., “I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)”
Jhené Aiko, “The Worst”
LiV Warfield, “Why Do You Lie?”
Wale f/Sam Dew, “LoveHate Thing”

Best International Act: U.K.
Dizzee Rascal
Krept & Konan
Laura Mvula
Rita Ora
Tinie Tempah

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.